A big part of the power of middlespot desktops is the ability to share and collaborate on a desktop. As the owner of a desktop you can do the following:
- Keep it completely private
- Allow others to follow your desktop and get updates when you make changes.
- Select some followers to be contributors, giving them permission to add and manage content on your desktop.
- Block followers who you no longer want to have access to your desktop.
As the owner of a desktop, you have full control over who these people are and what they can do.
There are three types of people who can view your desktop.
General Public - anyone can open and view a desktop that is public. They don't need a middlespot account. This desktop needs to be a public or password protected desktop.
Followers - they can view a public or private desktop. They need a middlespot account.
Contributors - they can view and edit a public or private desktop. They need a middlespot account.
How privacy settings affect collaboration
Middlespot has three privacy settings:
Private, Password Protected Public, and Public.
Private means that only you, as the owner, can see this desktop. You will need to log in to view this desktop. You must invite others to this desktop for them to be able to view the contents and follow your desktop. The invitee will also need to an account on middlespot and google and be logged into middlespot to view the desktop.
Password Protected means that anyone can see the desktop as long as they have the password you created for it. They do not have to be logged into middlespot to view the desktop.
Public means anyone can see the desktop if they have the URL. They do not have to be logged into middlespot to view the desktop.